The Right Words

The void left by your wife’s death was threatening to consume you. What words could’ve blunted the blades of your misery? In the restaurant of my mind, cliched waitresses sauntered in with apologetic attitudes and platters of platitudes. Certainly nothing worth ordering. Their offerings made communion wafers seem as nourishing as the corpse of Christ in the eyes of a fine young cannibal.

Why did my mind go there? “Silence of the Lambs” was on TV, and The Fine Young Cannibals were on the radio, in the background, singing “She Drives Me Crazy.” If only it were her presence, not her absence, that promised to drive you crazy. What words might’ve helped you? I could have said “I’m sorry for your loss” but that would’ve felt as inadequate as stepping from a chauffeur driven limousine to offer a homeless man a slice of stale bread.

What words could I have uttered that would’ve done more good than a handgun versus hornets? In hindsight, I wish I’d said “you’re a resilient man. I hope your agony fades to a bearable ache surprisingly soon.” Would that have helped? I’m not sure, but I believe it would’ve been better than I’m sorry for your loss, you have my sympathy, everything happens for a reason, or it must have been part of God’s plan.


© Rodney Hunter, 2023

One thought on “The Right Words

Leave a comment