A Typical Saturday

The goblin painted on the rock face
spied sonnets in lingering chemtrails,
and luscious limericks in lava plumes.
Virile vines at heavenly harpsichords
waited for it to snarl one more request.
Their flowers were truculent trumpets
sneering at fly spray wielding sprites.
They weren’t carrying insecticides.
They lugged anti-gravity aerosols.
Nothing like flubber you flopping fool,
just drugs that induce wild jumping.
That paranoia inducing picture
had me wondering if dragon flies,
hovering above shimmering ponds,
were battle ready CIA drones.
No, it wasn’t the subject matter,
it was the unsettling colour scheme
that left me feeling so psychotic.
It was the weirdest blend of dullness
sinister darkness and irridescence
ever to assault my sensitive brain.
Traces of rationality lingered,
until that ghoulish goblin was gone.
Nobody could’ve scrubbed it away
while my bewildered head was turned.
Then I spotted that fiend in 3D.
Not a hologram, in flesh it was.
That stumpy ghoul grabbed my wallet.
It’s a trick, it’s a trick, it’s all a trick
echoed inside my stimuli soaked skull,
but it felt as real as you and me.


© Rodney Hunter, 2024

Leave a comment